What are the 7 Chakras?

The 7-Chakras

You may have heard the term chakra, but do you know what it means? In sanskrit, chakra means wheel – appropriate since chakras are whirling, spinning energy centers.

The seven major chakras form a vertical power line that runs from the top of your head to the base of your spine. They are the main source of your energy, but stress and emotional or physical problems can block them. When this happens you may feel physically ill or mentally out of balance. That’s why healers that practice alternative medicine focus on your chakras.

Following are brief descriptions of the 7 chakras.

First Chakra – Root

Chakra-1The root chakra is found at the base of your spine, and its color is red. Since the root is closest to the earth, it grounds you and gives you the energy to succeed in the physical world. When it becomes blocked, you may experience fear, anxiety, and frustration or physical problems, such as obesity or anorexia nervosa.

Second Chakra – Belly (Sacral)

Chakra-2The sacral chakra is found between your spine’s base and your navel, and its color is orange. Since a woman’s sexual organs are found primarily in the second chakra, the sacral chakra is a center for sexual and procreation needs. Desire, pleasure, creativity, and intuition stem from it. When it’s blocked, you may experience emotional and sexual problems and possibly obsessive-compulsive behavior. You may doubt your self-worth. Physical ailments range from kidney problems to lower pack pain and muscle spasms.

Third Chakra – Solar Plexus

Chakra-3The solar plexus chakra is found a few inches above the navel, and its color is yellow. As the center of your emotional life, it gives you feelings of personal power, joy, and anger. Since the third chakra powers ambition and achievement needs, you may experience anger, frustration, or feelings of listlessness or victimization when it becomes blocked. Physically you may have digestive problems, diabetes, and food allergies.

Fourth Chakra – Heart

Chakra-4Not surprisingly the heart chakra is the center of love, compassion, harmony, and peace, and its color is green. Feelings of unconditional love start in the heart chakra. If they move to your root chakra, you may feel the urge to marry and settle down.If your heart chakra becomes blocked, you may act without compassion or principle. Physically you may experience immune system, heart, or lung problems.

Fifth Chakra – Throat

Chakra-5The throat chakra is the energy center for communication and creativity expressed through thought, speech, and writing. This is where you sense the possibility for change and emotional healing. When the throat chakra is in balance, you may excel in music, art, or public speaking. When it becomes blocked, you may act dishonestly, have difficulty communicating your needs to others, or experience creative blocks. Physically you may suffer from skin irritations, ear infections, sore throat, and back pain.

Sixth Chakra – Third Eye

Chakra-6The third eye (or brow) chakra is found at the center of your forehead slightly above your eyes, and its color is indigo. Since the third eye is the sixth chakra and powers your perception and intuition, some refer to it as the sixth sense. When the third eye becomes blocked, you may act without foresight, have selective memory, or suffer from depression.

Seventh Chakra – Crown

Chakra-7The crown is found at the top of your head, and its color is violet. It is the Chakra of Divine purpose and your personal place of connection to God. The crown is the center of understanding, acceptance, and bliss. You may experience psychological problems when the crown becomes blocked.


©Universal Copyright 2014 is authorized here. Please distribute freely as long as both the author Stephanie Lucas and www.QuantumStones.com are included as the resource and this information is distributed on a non-commercial no charge basis.


Tags: , , , , ,